A bit about my writing 5

I’m Nathan Bush, author of The Foley Chronicles: Files from the 8th District, a series I’ve dubbed faith-based crime, with an attitude.

After publishing book one of my series, I went to work on book two with rewrites and editing. It was nearly a year between publications.

But eventually Root of Evil became a reality. While not my favorite of the bunch, it introduced many new players in Foley who filled the vacant slots left in the aftermath of book one.

Enter stage left, Quin Butler, a former deputy sheriff from out west. And yes, the cliched story of a country boy coming to the city didn’t sneak into the series. I brought him intentionally. Somewhat as comic relief, but also as a thorn in John Filcher’s side.

I know you’re probably thinking, you can’t just show up and become a detective in the Homicide Division of the Investigative Branch of a police department.

But I say yes, you can. Because provisions were made for just such an occasion. It’s why I chose a fictional city as my setting. Foley is my city, and I can do what I want. Well, at least as far as the characters will allow.😬

Not long after Detective Quin Butler comes to town he gets assigned a fresh homicide with his new partner, Senior Detective John Filcher.

A man is found bludgeoned to death and his motel room ransacked, with no evidence as to what the killer was looking for.

While working the investigation, Quin uncovers new evidence in a cold case, making life even more hectic for the pair.

Trouble abounds for Quin in his personal life when he meets a beautiful woman, who happens to be an old friend of his partner. A woman for whom John is overly protective.

When the circumstances surrounding this woman come to light, will Quin second guess his decision to pursue her against John’s wishes?

Will the team be able to solve both cases without killing each other?

Will Quin succeed in his new job, or go down in flames and head for home?

Check it out at http://mybook.to/RootofEvil

More to come later.

#authorssupportingauthors #indieauthor #indies #supportsmallbusinessowners

Leave a comment