A bit about my writing 3

I’m Nathan Bush, author of The Foley Chronicles: Files from the 8th District, a series I’ve dubbed faith-based crime, with an attitude.

In 2013 I was put out of work from a back injury, that I’m sure had nothing to do with my advancing age, but rather the tremendous punishment I constantly put my body through for the privilege of collecting a small token of appreciation from my boss, and family.

During my home bound stage of life (10 long months) my reading slightly picked up, having not much else I could do without aggravating my body.

After finishing one particular book by Randy Alcorn, I said to myself, “Self, I bet you could write something like this.”

If people knew how much I spoke to myself, I’d probably be forced to see a therapist. But that’s for another day.

So, with nothing much else to do, I sat down at the dining room table with a laptop and pounded out a rough draft, tallying around 115,000 words, of I Know You (the original title to book one).

The final count is, I believe, closer to 110,000. Which is still a lot for a police drama, but I stick to my guns that what’s in the final product is necessary for the edification of author and reader alike.

While some readers prefer just the meat of the story, I’m inclined to want a little fat with mine. I like to know what the characters are doing when not directly involved with helping fulfill the storyline. To me, it makes them more relatable. But that’s also for another time. Back to my writing.

I didn’t stop there with one book. I also made a sequel – more of a continuation than a sequel, really. At the time I hadn’t considered the idea of a series, just a couple books, perhaps. But the writing had other ideas. As I would soon see.

I even printed out a small version and put it in a binder for my mom, as a gift, and didn’t think much else about it(I got it back when she passed away) for a while.

Once I went back to work, life took over again and I didn’t think about writing or those two books for a few years. Until 2016 rolled around.

More to come later.

#authorssupportingauthors #indieauthor #indies #supportsmallbusinessowners

Leave a comment